Back to School

My surgery was a success! Thank God and all the people who had me in their prayers; it means a lot. It was my first surgery ever and it was everything I thought it would not be. It was a quick flash; Doctor Carr, (our team doctor) put me to sleep and I woke up in a sling all drugged up. The first day back home was a serious struggle, I was in a ton of pain and restless. I had difficulty sleeping for about three days but I am sleeping fine now after six days post surgery. I have already started rehabilitating with Sarah, (our team physician) which has been minimal but she has been taking good care of me. The support system at SLU is truly unique, even though I am injured I still feel relevant. My managers still send me encouraging texts, my teammates and coaching staff are engaged with me and Janet (SLU Athletics) is still willing to help and ask how I feel during the process. A question that we should all ask ourselves is: “Who is going to be there when things get ugly?” Those are your true friends and they don’t have to do too much during tough times. Just some words of encouragement can go a long way so during this process I will truly discover who is in my circle (which is already pretty tight).

Davell Roby and Milik Yarbrough are emerging as very special players as they lead the team in scoring in back to back games against George Washington and Davidson. Games that we lost and now we find ourselves 8-8 on the season. It seems that Austin Mcbroom is not playing as much and it bothers me. He is an exceptional scorer but he must step his defense up in order to play substantial minutes as the season progresses. After all, defense is what we have been known for all across the nation and that starts with our point guards. Kwamain, Mike and Jordair had to do it so now it is Austin’s turn, we will go as far as he is willing to push himself defensively.

I am not looking forward to going back to school for my last semester, it is such a bitter feeling knowing that this is my last. I hate that I have to go out like this. School and rehab will be my life and I honestly feel like I am slipping behind the eight ball physically. I have been sidelined for too long and I am worried about not being the same high energy guy I once was. I have seen it happen to one of my fellow Canadian hoopers in Anthony Bennett, whom is playing terrific basketball now for the T’Wolves but gained over 20 pounds in an off season due to a dislocated shoulder. That year was a nightmare for him and I won’t be playing in the NBA next season but I will be playing against exceptional competition . I must be prepared for anything. But how can I do that when I can’t even shoot a ball let alone run or bike? It is eating me up inside to just be a spectator and at first I thought it would have been easy. Now thoughts of skipping surgery and just playing run through my mind constantly. What if I played and gave the boys leadership as a senior? What if I was playing and we had a winning record? What if I was playing and I had an outstanding season? I feel like a “what if” kind of guy. We all know them, all talk and no action just “what if.” I have a chance to change all of that but all I have is my passion and desire; I will push myself to another level just watch. I promise that I will not be a “what if” story.

Leave a comment