Fight Back !

You have to fight for what you want in life; nothing worth while comes easy and if it does,  it is an absolute guarantee you won’t cherish it. Fighting for what you want takes courage and facing the fear that, regardless of your efforts you can still fail. The key is to stay calm and continue to persevere; for as long as you are breathing, there is always an opportunity to achieve what you want. A challenge is only good once it is conquered and we have all been there. Look back at a situation you were in that seemed nearly impossible but you overcame that challenge and realized that you are stronger now. No matter what, there is always a way to succeed, you just have to put up a legitimate fight. God made it that way.

We are now 8-6 on the season. We fell short to a super Athletic Vanderbilt team earlier this week out of the SEC, then we got topped by a powerful Rhode Island team in league play today. Not the least bit of good news for us in terms of improving our record but I did see growth and flashes of greatness out of the Billikens this week, especially from Malik Yarbrough; the kid can flat out play some basketball. No, I am not searching for any moral victories however, I can see the bright side of this week. We are promised 17 more basketball games and it is up to us to make the best out of that opportunity. We have to fight and believe that we can win the A-10. All we can control is our attitude and effort, this is what fighting is all about; we have taken some punches but the real test is fighting back. I believe that we will take this week and use it as fuel for the rest of the season because we sure do not have a locker room full of losers.

I had a great New Years eve with some of my friends and will be a night I will never forget. It sure will be hard to say goodbye to them if I decide to not hoop anymore, they are genuine people who have my best interest at heart. I can’t believe I’m saying this but I am ready to start my last semester! We start next Monday and my schedule is difficult but hey, I’m almost home free so no complaining over here trust me.

It’s my last weekend before surgery and I am kind of nervous as to how the procedure will go. Of course I trust the doctors but this will be my first time ever going through with a surgical repair. On Wednesday, I was handed a red envelope that looked like it should have had a Christmas card, but instead was just filled  with a ton of instructions for pre and post surgery. This sure is going to be quite the process but I am ready for the challenge. Wish me luck and pray for me guys. Hope you have a great New Year.

God Bless.

Leave a comment